Gordon Burn Trust

The Gordon Burn Prize 2019

  • author AA Dhand
  • writer and broadcaster Miranda Sawyer
  • artist Gary Hume
  • musician Rachel Unthank

The Gordon Burn Prize 2018

  • writer and journalist ALEX CLARK
  • poet and teacher KEI MILLER

The Gordon Burn Prize 2017

  • musician and author COSEY FANNI TUTTI
  • lawyer and writer PETINA GAPPAH
  • journalist ALLAN JENKINS
  • author IAN SANSOM

The Gordon Burn Prize 2016

The judges for the Gordon Burn Prize 2016 are acclaimed novelists Jenn Ashworth and William Boyd, award-winning journalist and writer Rachel Cooke, and the celebrated artist and author Harland Miller. Many thanks to them for their support and time devoted to the role.

The Gordon Burn Prize 2015

The judges for the Gordon Burn Prize 2015 were actress Maxine Peake, author Roddy Doyle, author Doug Johnstone, artist Gavin Turk and journalist Suzanne Moore. 

The Gordon Burn Prize 2014

The judges for the 2014 award were the novelist and poet John Burnside, actor and comedian Julian Barratt, artist Sarah Lucas and the winner of the 2013 Gordon Burn Prize, novelist Ben Myers. 

The Gordon Burn Prize 2013

The judges for the 2013 award were the novelist David Peace, journalist Deborah Orr and writer and broadcaster, Mark Lawson.


Longlisting of entries for the awards will be undertaken by representatives of the partner organisations and the shortlist chosen by the judges.

The judges reserve the right to call in any books that they see fit to consider for the award.

The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence or discussion about the judging process will be entered into.